News & Updates

"Congratulations to two junior chemistry majors, Benjamin Jackson and Savannah Hoyt for their induction into Mortar Board National Senior Honor Society. Mortar Board is a nationally recognized senior honor society that is based on service, leadership, and scholarship. Each year the University of South Alabama Sally Steadman Azalea Chapter selected 50 senior students for membership. Congratulations Benjamin and Savannah!" - Larry Yet

"Congratulations to our chemistry senior undergraduate student, Kaitlyn Roberts, who was awarded Who’s Who of the University of South Alabama. Kaitlyn was chosen based on her involvement, commitment, and contributions to campus life at the University of South Alabama. Thorough out her undergraduate career Kaitlyn has been involved in many activities and organizations such as Alpha Epsilon Delta, American Chemical Society, and Undergraduate Research. Congratulations Kaitlyn!" - Larry Yet

"Congratulations to our chemistry senior undergraduate student, Madison R. Tuttle, who was awarded  the 2017 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.  Madison was one of 2000 awardees nationwide from an application pool of 13000 and representing one of 1,158 women!  Her research mentor is Dr. Larry Yet.  She is one of two awardees from South this year.  This is the fourth award for mentors from the Chemistry Department in the last decade." - Larry Yet 

Congratulations to our senior undergraduate chemistry students Madison Tuttle and Taylor Hamby, for winning the poster competition, 1st and 2nd place, respectively in Section II at the 94th Annual Meeting of the Alabama Academy of Science held on the USA campus February 22-24, 2017" - Larry Yet

"It truly is a pleasure to be able to share with you the recognition our Department received on Wednesday.  Chemistry had three (3) faculty recognized as Top Prof through the Azalea Chapter of Mortar Board.  As this was the 14th installment, many of us know how special events like these are in that our students share how members of South impact their lives in a positive way.  Chemistry with Biomedical Sciences and English all had no less than three faculty recognized in their respective units.  The Chemistry faculty recognized were Dr. Dave Battiste, Dr. Matthew Reichert, and Dr. Richard Rogers.  Not only is it a pleasure to work with each of you, I as well as everyone in the Department would echo that you are most deserving of this recognition - congratulations!" - David Forbes

Seminars -Spring 2018    

Friday,  Jan 12th
12:20 pm Chemistry Room 201

Julie Pigza University of Southern Mississippi
Hattiesburg, MS

Friday, Feb 9th
12:20 pm Chemistry Room 201

Gregory Boyce Florida Gulf Coast University
Fort Myers, FL
Thursday Evening Chemistry - Spring 2017   

Thursday,  Jan 26th
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Chemistry Room 101

Dr. David Forbes
University of South Alabama
Department of Chemistry
Molecules, Molecules

Thursday,  Feb 2nd
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Chemistry Room 101

Dr. David Battiste
University of South Alabama
Department of Chemistry
An the Last Shall be First

Thursday, Feb 9th
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Chemistry Room 101

Dr. Allyn Schoffler
Spring Hill College
Department of Chemistry
The CRISPR/Cas9 Discovery:
A Revolution in Genetic Engineering