Faculty and Staff Members

 
Faculty
 
 
 Martha Jane Brazy
Martha Jane Brazy
Associate Professor, Coordinator of Graduate Studies, and Director of Gender Studies
Pre-Civil War U.S., U.S. Social, U.S. Women's, and African-American History
mjbrazy@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7540
Humanities 371

 

Claire Cage
Claire Cage
Assistant Professor
France, Gender
ccage@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7373
Humanities 376

 

Robert Faust
Robert Faust
Senior Instructor 
U.S. History, Western Civilization, Environmental History
rfaust@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7602
Humanities 381

 

Leanne Good
Leanne Good
Assistant Professor     
Medieval Europe, Ancient and Late Antique Roman History, Cultural Historical Geography
good@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6972
Humanities 372

 

Marsha Hamilton
Marsha Hamilton
Associate Professor 
Co-Director of Museum Studies, and Advisor for National Scholarships in the Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences
Colonial America, Atlantic World, Public History
mhamilton@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7611
Humanities 373

 

Will Holmes
Will Holmes
Instructor     
U.S. History, Western Civilization
wcholmes@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7548
Humanities 350

 

Mara Kozelsky
Mara Kozelsky
Professor
Eastern Europe and Russia
mkozelsky@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7377
Humanities 375

 

Timothy J. Lombardo
Timothy J. Lombardo
Assistant Professor
Modern U.S., American Urban History, Race and American Political Development, Labor/Working Class History
tlombardo@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6868
Humanities 378

 

Henry McKiven
Henry McKiven
Associate Professor
U.S. South, Civil War and Reconstruction, Labor
hmckiven@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7610
Humanities 351

 

Alex McManus
Alex McManus
Instructor
U.S. History, Western Civilization
amcmanus@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6034
Humanities 370

 

David Meola
David Meola
Fanny and Bert Meisler Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies
Enlightenment and Modern Germany, Modern Jewish History,  Jewish Studies
dameola@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6867
Humanities 352

 

David Messenger
David Messenger
Professor and Chair
Modern Europe, Spain, Human Rights, War and Memory
davidamessenger@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 344

 

Harry Miller
Harry Miller
Professor
China, Japan
hsmiller@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7547
Humanities 377

 

Michele Strong
Michele Strong
Associate Professor 
Modern British Social and Cultural History, British Empire, Travel and Tourism
mstrong@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7531
Humanities 374

 

Rebecca Williams
Rebecca Williams
Associate Professor 
Islamic Civilization
rwilliams@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6158
Humanities 379

 

 
Part-Time Faculty
 
 
William Donald
William Donald
Instructor
Western Civilization, U.S. History
wdonald@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 386

 

Elizabeth Green
Elizabeth Green
Instructor
U.S. History
elizabethgreen@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 386

 

image placeholder
Ron Ori
Instructor
Western Civilization, Military History
rori@health.southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 385

 

Philip Theodore
Philip Theodore
Instructor
Western Civilization
ptheodore@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Student Recreation Center

 

Kara Tyson
Kara Tyson
Instructor
Western Civilization, U.S. History
ktyson@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 385

 

Photo of Jim Wilmann
Jim Willmann
Instructor
U.S. History
jwillmann@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 385

 

 
Staff
 
 
Michelle Cagle
Michelle Cagle 
Department Secretary


Debbie Thomaston
Debbie Thomaston
Department Secretary

 

 
Professors Emeriti & Retired Professors
 
 
Betty Brandon
Betty J. Brandon
Professor
 

 

Don DeVore
 

 

Woody Hannum
Ellwood B. Hannum
Associate Professor
 

 

Larry Holmes
Larry Holmes 
Professor
 

 

Bob Houston
W. Robert Houston
Associate Professor
 

 

Michael L. Monheit
Michael L. Monheit
Associate Professor
 

 

Dan Rogers
Daniel Rogers
Professor
 

 

Michael Thomason
Michael V.R. Thomason
Professor
 

 

 
Recently Departed Faculty
 
 
Leonard Macaluso
Richmond F. Brown (1961-2016)
Associate Professor
 

 

Leonard Macaluso
Leonard A. Macaluso (1942-2013)
Associate Professor
 

 

Howard F. Mahan
Howard F. Mahan (1923-2012)
Professor and Founding Chair
 

 

Clarence Mohr
Clarence Mohr (1946-2017)
Professor and former Chair
 

 

Joseph A. Nigota
Joseph A. Nigota (1940-2009)
Associate Professor
 

 

 
Former Professors, Associate Professors, and Assistant Professors
 
 
William D. Barnard George H. Daniels Mollie Lewis Nouwen
Robert Brunhouse Aaron S. Fogleman Maureen Ogle
Amy Turner Bushnell A. Taber Green Bill Pencak 
Chen-Kuan Chuang R. Michael Malek William Speck
Charles W. Connell J. Peyton McCrary John G. Turner
E. Lewis B. Curtis Melton A. McLaurin Chitralekha Zutshi
     
(† = deceased)