Excellence in Directed Study Awards

Description

The award is given in recognition of outstanding faculty performance in undergraduate directed studies or similar directed learning courses, such as undergraduate senior thesis courses. The award is intended to recognize faculty undergraduate instruction that is not a part of a faculty member's standard teaching load.

Supervision of graduate thesis or dissertation hours does not fall within the intended scope of this award.

Eligibility

Candidates for this award must be nominated by their department chair.

Any full-time or part-time faculty member of the College of Arts and Sciences with an outstanding record of teaching directed studies courses in the College is eligible to be nominated. An individual may receive the award once every three years.

Supporting Materials

Candidates must upload supporting materials to the InfoReady portal for this award. It is recommended that the department chair assist the nominee in preparation of these materials.

Cash Prizes

Each of the four Excellence in Directed Studies awards is accompanied by a cash prize of \$1500.00, subject to the availability of funds, at the sole discretion of the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. All cash awards will be subject to regular payroll withholding taxes and will be made through the normal payroll process.

Eligibility Caution

An individual may receive only one College award (teaching, dean's lecture, scholarship, graduate mentoring, service, advising, or directed studies) per academic year. If an individual is nominated for more than one award, s/he should decide which award s/he wants to be considered for and submit materials in support of that nomination only.

Selection of Recipients

The selection of award recipients will be made by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, based upon recommendations from the Faculty Awards Committee.

Nominations

Nominations for this award <u>must be made by the faculty member's department chair</u>. Self-nominations are not accepted for this award.

Submission Information

Chairs should submit nominations via email to: **Dr. Armin Straub** (straub@southalabama.edu), Chair, Faculty Awards Committee. Nominations are due by 5:00 p.m. on Feb.16, 2024.