

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC

WIND ENSEMBLE

Spring Concert

Greg L. Gruner, conductor William H. Petersen, associate conductor Elizabeth Holmes, Ian Jones, Bryant Ramey, Matt Selete, Tyler Williams, student conductors

Jazzalogue No. 1 (2002) Wind Ensemble Brass	Joseph Turrin (b. 1947) s Section
Symphony in B-flat (1951) Moderately fast, with vigor Andantino grazioso Fugue, Rather broad	Paul Hindemith (1895-1963)
March of the Belgian Paratroopers (1946)	Pierre Leemans (1897-1980) arranged by Charles A. Wiley
American Riversongs (1991)Pierre LaPlante (b. 1943)Down the River – Ian Jones, student conductorShenandoah – Matt Selete, student conductorGlendy Burk – Bryant Ramey, student conductor	
Ammerland (2001) Tyler Williams, student	Jacob de Haan (b. 1959) conductor
Freelance March (1905) Elizabeth Holmes, studer	John Philip Sousa (1854-1932) nt conductor
Candide Suite (1956) The Best of All Possible Worlds Westphalia Chorale and Battle Scene Auto-da-fé Glitter and Be Gay Make Our Garden Grow	Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990) adapted by Clare Grundman
William H. Petersen, conductor	



LAIDLAW PERFORMING ARTS CENTER RECITAL HALL Thursday, April 17, 2014 – 7:30 p.m.

ABOUT THE UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA WIND ENSEMBLE

The USA Wind Ensemble is the premiere instrumental ensemble in the Department of Music. As a select performing ensemble of woodwind, brass, and percussion instrumentalists, Dr. Greg L. Gruner conducts the Wind Ensemble with an emphasis on wind ensemble literature and live performance. The Wind Ensemble is open to music majors and non-music majors with prior instrumental performance experience in high school or junior college. All students must win an audition each semester in order to join the Wind Ensemble.

WIND ENSEMBLE PERSONNEL

<u>Flute</u> Nicole Carrion * Celeste Boone Beth Holmes

<u>Oboe</u> Madi Kreamer Todd Stehr

Bassoon Jake Cannon * Jenna Greep

Clarinet Emily Allen * Derek McDougal

Jacob Diercks Carson Watson Alyssa Weiskopf Meredith Wyatt

Bass Clarinet

Stephanie Diaz *

Contrabass Clarinet

Ivan Merriweather

<u>Alto Sax</u> David Collins * Andrew Cox

<u>Tenor Sax</u> Karl Bentley III

Baritone Sax Brittney Franklin

<u>Trumpet</u> Drew Pritchard * Shawn Wright Dennis Parker Miki Vaughn Nathan Shadix Tyler Williams

Horn Morgan Wilkins * Lauren Morrison Dustin Miller Christopher Gaal

<u>Trombone</u>

Edward Doyle * Will Rosati Rebecca Bensinger

Bass Trombone

Robin Coleman

Euphonium Chris LeBatard

<u>Tuba</u> Matt Selete * Kenneth Coleman

String Bass Lance Wilkinson

Percussion

Ben Ivey * Luke Smith Ian Jones Soren Odom Bryant Ramey Jessica Foster

<u>Piano</u>

Boni Yraguen *

<u>Harp</u> Andra Bohnet #

* denotes principal# denotes music faculty