

Plenary Session

April 20, 2023 -MCOB 265 & Zoom 3:00 pm

MINUTES

Present: Faculty and Guests

- Adams. Jamie
- Amare, Nicole
- Arif, Delaware
- Barber, William
- Bates, Robin
- Beebe, Donald
- Black, Michael
- Brock, Casey
- Borchert, Glen
- Bunch, Jaclyn
- Copeland-Streeter, Donna
- Curtis, Missy
- Coronado, Yun
- Dasinger, Jacob
- Davidson, Clay
- Donaldson, Amanda
- Ferguson, Susan
- Fonseca, Anabelle
- Getch, Yvette
- Godang, Romulus
- Hauff, Caitlyn
- Hoffmann, Alma
- Hudson, Geoffrey
- Huang, Jingshan
- Huang, Ying
- Jahnke, Karl
- Kersey, Jeremy
- Khan, Zoya
- Lebertz, Scott
- Lynch, Colleen
- Manders, Jenny
- Marri, Preethi
- Meola, David
- Migaud, Marie
- Miller, Kristina

- Min. Hosik
- Ní Chadhain, Sinéad
- Pavelescu, Andrei
- Pettaway, Kimberly
- Pfleeger, Jenna
- Rabideau, Brooks
- Raczkowski, Chris
- Rayner, Jon
- Richardson, Joe
- Sayner, Sarah
- Sehgal, Mukul
- Shaw, Thomas
- Shepard, Beth
- Singh, Seema
- Spencer, Edmund
- Swanzy, Debra
- Swofford, James
- Tate, Vicki
- ter Horst, Eleanor
- Thomas, Rebecca
- Thompson, Christina
- Turnipseed, David
- Vandewaa, Elizabeth
- Vrana, Lauara
- Walker, Sean
- Wassenaar, Christina
- Webb, Bret
- Weber, David
- Williams, Ashley
- Woodmansee, Brenda
- Meeting called to order 3:02 pm
- Approval of the Minutes for 3/15/23 Meeting: Approved
- Approval of Agenda for 4/19/23 Meeting: Approved

President's Report:

■ Elections, Elections, and Elections: This year for the first time, we are going to have an open election and we will get nominations for all of the positions from the floor during the plenary meeting on April 19 (this Wednesday). Historically, the Executive Committee would ask for nominations from the Senators and put together a slate to present to the plenary. In addition to the proposed slate, nominations also could come from the floor on the day of plenary. It was convenient and time-saving, but many Senators raised questions about the process as the newly elected Senators who start their term on the day of April plenary would not have opportunities to take part in the process

of putting a slate together. Also, some senators might get confused assuming the proposed slate as the selection from the Executive Committee.

- The Executive Committee took the concerns of the Senators seriously and decided to have the April plenary as the Election Day. We intentionally kept two items on the agenda: Elections and Awards.
- So, this is a very important meeting as we are going to elect our new leaders at a very critical time in the history of South Alabama and also higher education in general.
- We will seek nominations for each position from the floor. All of the candidates will have a minute to provide a speech to the plenary. Then the elections will be held electronically. Please bring any electronic device (phone, laptop etc.) to cast your ballot.
- Enrollment, Enrollment, and Enrollment: The good news is that the Administration and Faculty have been working hard and together to turn the wheel and increase our enrollment number. However, the bad news is that regional universities like us are going to face an enrollment cliff in the coming days. As a result, if our enrollment numbers continue to go down, we might see retooling, reallocating, and readjusting of our resources. Keeping this scenario in mind, the Executive Committee has expressed concerns during the meeting with the President's Council. We also requested them to communicate transparently. In the worst-case scenario, if the administration has to decide on any adjustments, the Executive Committee urges them to work with the faculty to come up with the best and most effective solutions possible that could serve the best interest in terms of faculty retention as well as interest of the USA Community.
- Administrative Searches: The candidates for AVP Student Affairs are going to be on campus soon. Provost has informed us that she will finalize the selection process of the Honors college soon.

Reports from Senate Committees:

• None

Reports from University Committees

None

Reports from Caucus Leaders:

None

Reports from University Committees:

None

New Business:

- Awards: FS Community Awards
 - Sean announced the Faculty Senate winners, and he along with the FS
 president and other exom members presented the awards to the following
 recipients:
 - Outstanding Teaching Partner: TRiNova
 - Outstanding Community Partner: Victory Health Partners
 - Semoon and Youngshin Chang Endowed Award for Humanitarian Service: Juan Torres
 - Outstanding Research Partner: Alabama Commission on Tick-Borne Illnesses

Elections

- Nominations from the floor were made for the following positions:
 - President
 - Vice-President
 - Secretary
 - Chair of the Salary & Benefits Committee
 - Chair of the Sustainability Committee
 - Chair of the Handbook Committee
 - Chair of the Evaluation Committee
 - Chair of the Research Committee
 - Chair of the Teaching Committee
 - Chair of the Mentoring Committee
 - Chair of the DEI Committee
 - Chair of the Planning Committee
- Dr, Arif asked for nominations for each open position. Each nominated candidate had an opportunity to accept the nomination and provide a brief presentation for the faculty senate as to their qualifications for the position. Opportunities for the faculty senate to ask questions of each candidate with a brief Q&A session following each presentation. A separate electronic ballot was sent out to a list of current faculty senators following each nomination, acceptance of nomination, presentation, and Q&A session for each position.
- The following senators were voted by a simple plurality of current faculty senators to serve in the following positions for a one-year term:
 - President-Donna Copeland-Streeter
 - Vice-President-Christina Wassenaar
 - Secretary-Susan Ferguson
 - Chair of the Salary & Benefits Committee-Elizabeth Vandewaa
 - Chair of the Sustainability Committee-David Turnipseed

- Chair of the Handbook Committee-Sinead Ni Chadhain
- Chair of the Evaluation Committee-Christopher Raczkowski
- Chair of the Research Committee-Bret Webb
- Chair of the Teaching Committee-Eleanor ter Horst
- Chair of the Mentoring Committee- Beth Shepard
- Chair of the DEI Committee-Yvette Getch
- Chair of the Planning Committee-Sean Walker
- Other: Christina Wassenaar reminded all faculty are welcome to attend the end of the FS end of the year party. The party will be held at the POST on 4513 Old Shell Road at 5:30 p.m.

Meeting Adjournment: MMSA 4:50 pm

Minutes transcribed by Donna Copeland-Streeter