Overview
Faculty & Staff
Recent Faculty Publications
Awards & Commendations
Job Openings
Contact

 

staff
Paula Jefferson
HUMB 240
(251) 460-6146
pjefferson@southalabama.edu

Arnedra Wilson
HUMB 240
(251) 460-6146
aswilson@southalabama.edu
FACULTY
Nicole Amare | Associate Professor
Specializes in professional communication and rhetoric and composition, with interests in gender studies and late American literature.
HUMB 252460-7157namare@southalabama.edu

Larry Beason | Associate Professor
Director of Freshman Composition Program. Specializes in writing pedagogy.
HUMB 280460-7861lbeason@southalabama.edu

Pat Cesarini | Associate Professor
Specializes in American lit from the colonial period to 1900, with particular emphasis on religion and historicist concerns.

Robert Coleman | Associate Professor
Assistant Dean of Arts & Sciences. Specializes in U.S. literatures, literary aesthetics, and the history of rhetoric.

Chris Cowley | Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.
HUMB 251460-7960cmcowley@southalabama.edu

Vickey Daley | Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.
HUMB 261460-7940vdaley@southalabama.edu

Karma deGruy | Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.

Frye Gaillard | USA Writer in Residence
Specializes in Southern culture and history.

Annmarie Guzy | Associate Professor
Specializes in composition pedagogy, professional communication, honors education, and gender studies.
HUMB 271460-6745aguzy@southalabama.edu

Carolyn Haines | Assistant Professor
Fiction Coordinator.

John Halbrooks | Associate Professor
Specializes in medieval and Renaissance literature.

Ellen Harrington | Associate Professor
Graduate Coordinator. Specializes in British Victorian literature, detective and sensation fiction, and 19th century gender and colonial contexts.

Richard Hillyer | Associate Professor
Assistant to the Chair. Specializes in Renaissance literature and poetry.

Cris Hollingsworth | Associate Professor
Specializes in poetry and poetics, 19th-century British literature, and modernism.

Kern Jackson | Assistant Professor
Director of the African American Studies Program. Specializes in African American and Southeastern United States folklore and oral narrative.

Julian Knox | Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.
HUMB 256460-????jknox@southalabama.edu

Derek Lowe | Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.
HUMB 258460-6146dlowe@southalabama.edu

Becky McLaughlin | Associate Professor
Generalist with particular interests in psychoanalysis and sexuality.

Christine Norris | Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.
HUMB 281460-????cnorris@southalabama.edu

Linda Payne | Associate Professor
Specializes in literature of the British Restoration and 18th-century, with special interest in women writers and gender issues.
HUMB 262460-6502lpayne@southalabama.edu

Karen Peterson | Senior Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.

Christopher Raczkowski | Associate Professor
Specializes in post-Civil War American literature with an emphasis on modernism and crime.

Justin St. Clair | Associate Professor
Specializes in post-1945 American literature and sound culture studies.

Linda Spain | Senior Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.
HUMB 248460-7057lspain@southalabama.edu

Steven Trout | Full Professor
Department Chair. Specializes in literary modernism, war literature, and American cultural studies.
HUMB 243460-6439strout@southalabama.edu

Stephanie Volf | Instructor
Teaches composition and literature surveys.

Sue Walker | Full Professor
Stokes Distinguished Professor of Creative Writing. Specializes in American/Southern lit, ecology, lit and medicine, and poetics.

Jesmyn Ward | Assistant Professor
Stokes Fellow of Creative Writing. Specializes in creative nonfiction and literary fiction.
HUMB 259460-7952jward@southalabama.edu

HUMB 240, Mobile, AL 36688
(251) 460-6146 | english@usouthal.edu