Current Graduate Students

 Major Advisor - Dr. Ruth H. Carmichael (rcarmichael@disl.org)

Kayla DaCosta

Name: Kayla DaCosta 

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Population connectivity and habitat utilization of the West Indian manatee in the northern Gulf of Mexico

 

Academic training: BS in Conservation Biology from Brigham Young University

Email: kdacosta@disl.org

 
 AshleyFrith

Name: Ashley Frith

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Environmental effects on histamine production in decomposing fish

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Brown University

 Email: afrith@disl.org

 MatthewHodanbosi

Name: Matthew R. Hodanbosi

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Influence of freshwater influx on the diet and body condition of the common bottlenose dolphin, Tursiops truncatus, in Mobile Bay, Alabama, United States.

Academic training: BS in Evolution and Ecology from The Ohio State University,

MS in Marine Biology from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Email: mhodanbosi@disl.org

Haley Nicholson

Name: Haley Nicholson

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title:  Larval oyster (Crassostrea virginica) settlement, distribution, and growth in a freshwater dominated and human influenced estuary

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from University of Miami  

Email: hnicholson@disl.org

 
 KimberlyPeter

Name: Kimberly Peter 

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Use of elemental signatures to detect and trace contaminant entry to the northern Gulf of Mexico coastal food web: managing multiple stressors

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Texas A&M University 

Email:  kpeter@disl.org

 

 

Major Advisor - Dr. Just Cebrian (jcebrian@disl.org)

 JamieAmato

Name: Jamie Amato

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Environmentally-friendly alternatives to bulkheads for resilient and healthy shorelines: evaluation and implementation of two living shoreline designs

Academic training: BS in Natural Resource Ecology and Management from Louisiana State University

Email: jamato@disl.org

Aaron Macy

NameAaron Macy

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Functional Shifts with Tropicalization in the Louisiana Marsh-Mangrove Ecotone

Academic training: BS in Oceanography from Florida Institute of Technology 

Email: amacy@disl.org

Caitlin Wessel

Name: Caitlin Wessel

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Marine Debris in the northern Gulf of Mexico

Academic training: BS in Secondary Education from The University of Pittsburgh,

MS in Coastal, Marine and Wetland Studies from Coastal Carolina University      

Email: cwessel@disl.edu

Laura West

Name: Laura West

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Primary Productivity across a gradient of water quality in the northern Gulf of Mexico

Academic training: BS in Biology from Gordon State College 

Email: lwest@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Kelly Drogan (kdrogan@disl.org)

 Cy Clemo

Name: Cy Clemo

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Relating physical disturbance, sediment geotechnical properties, and infaunal succession

Academic training: BS in Environmental Sciences, University of Virginia

Email:  wcc1622@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 
 SarahCole

Name: Sarah Cole

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Mud blister Worm, Polydora websteri, Infestation on Farmed Oysters Along the Alabama Coast

Academic training: BS in Marine Science with a biology concentration from Eckerd College

Email: scole@disl.org

 
 KaraGadeken

Name: Kara Gadeken

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Coastal sediment response to the diel oxygen cycle 

Academic training: BS in Biology and minor in Marine Science from the College of William and Mary

Email: kgadeken@disl.org 

 RyanParker

Name: Ryan Parker

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Sublethal Effects of Oil on Infaunal Bioturbation Rates in the Northern Gulf of Mexico

Academic training: BS in Biology form The University of Southern Mississippi

Email: rparker@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Brian Dzwonkowski (bdzwonkowski@disl.org)

 JeffreyCoogan

Name: Jeffrey Coogan

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: An Investigation of Estuarine Physics in Mobile Bay

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Florida Institute of Technology,

MS in Ocean Engineering from  Florida Institute of Technology

EmailJcoogan@disl.org

 SteveDykstra

Name: Steve Dykstra

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: The impact of freshwater discharge on coastal environments

Academic Training: BS Geology from Calvin College,

MS Environmental Science

Email: sdykstra@disl.org

Major Advisor - Dr. Ronald P. Kiene (rkiene@disl.org)

 KyleHalstead

Name: Kyle Halstead

Program of study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Biogeochemistry of S-Methylmethionine and other amino acids in Mobile Bay

Academic training: BS in Marine/Organismal Biology from Spring Hill College

 

 DiannePalmoreJordan

Name: Dianne Palmore Jordan

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Biogeochemistry of Sulfur Compounds in Marine Sediments

Academic training: BS in Geology from University of South Alabama,

MS in Earth and Environmental Sciences from Tulane University

Email: cdpalmore@southalabama.edu

 

 TaraWilliams

Name: Tara Williams 

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Methanethiol concentrations in surface seawater and the relative importance of different precursors 

 

Academic training: BA in biology from the University of North Carolina 

Email: twilliams@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor -  Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause (jkrause@disl.org)

 IsraelAMarquez

Name: Israel A. Marquez

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: The role of mechanical and chemical sensing in copepod grazing selectivity on diatoms.

MS thesis - The biogeochemical consequences of mesoscale eddies in the Sargasso Sea  

 

Academic training: BS in Environmental Studies from UC Santa Barbara,

MS in Marine Science from University of South Alabama

Email: imarquez@disl.org 

 

 RebeccaAPickering

Name: Rebecca A. Pickering 

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Silica Cycling at the Sediment Water Interface of Coastal Systems 

 

Academic training: BS Marine Science - Concentration in Geology from Eckerd College, 2011,

MS Geology - Concentration in Geochemistry from Georgia State University, 2014

Email: Rpickering@disl.org

 

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. John Lehrter (jlehrter@disl.org)

 AlexisHagemeyer

Name: Alexis Hagemeyer

Program of Study: MS 

 

Academic training: BS Marine Biology from Central Methodist University 

Email: ach1726@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 CassandraBates

Name: Cassandra Bates 

Program of Study: MS 

 

Academic Training: BS in Biology from LaGrange College 

Email: crb1821@jagmail.southalabama.edu 

 AubreyBianco

Name: Aubrey Bianco

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic Training: BS in Biology from Franklin Pierce University

Email: ab1827@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 AngelaGarelick

Name: Angela Garelick

Program of Study: MS

 

 

Academic training: BS in Biology from California State University Channel Islands

Email: Akg1821@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 
 CharlotteFalls

Name: Charlotte Falls

Program of Study: MS 

 

Academic Training: BS in biology from University of South Alabama

Email: ceg1004@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 GraceForster

Name: Grace Forster

Program of Study: MS 

 

Academic Training: BS in Biology with a concentration of Marine Sciences from University of South Alabama

Email: glf1321@jagmail.southalabama.edu 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Sean P. Powers (spowers@disl.org)

Pearce Cooper

Name: Pearce Cooper

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Assessing population and estuarine scale subdivision in Sheepshead, Archosargus probatocephalus, using population genomics and otolith chemistry

Academic training: BS Fisheries Sciences, Virginia Tech 

Email: pcooper@disl.org

 edwardkin

Name: Edward Kim

Program of Study: MS 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Age, growth, abundance, and distribution of Gray Snapper in coastal and offshore Alabama waters.

Academic training: BA in Biology from the University of Pennsylvania, 2016

Email: ekim@disl.org

 

 MerrittMcCall

Name: Merritt McCall

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic training: BS in Marine biology from Auburn University

Email: mmccall@disl.org

T. Reid Nelson

Name: T. Reid Nelson

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Elucidating habitat use, movements, and growth of euryhaline species

Academic training: Marine Biology BS University of North Carolina at Wilmington,

Fisheries MS Auburn

Email: tnelson@disl.org

 FranDAlonzo

Name: Frank D'Alonzo, III

Program of Study: MS

Academic training: BS in Marine Science from Samford University

Email: fdalonzo@disl.org

 
 CassandraEldredge

Name: Cassandra Eldredge

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Florida Southern College

Email: ce1821@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 AllisonFletcher

Name: Allison Fletcher 

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from The University of Southern Mississippi 

Email: alf1822@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 JustinMcDonald

Name: Justin McDonald

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Age, growth, abundance, and distribution of Greater Amberjack in offshore Alabama waters.

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Troy University

Email: jmcdonald@disl.org

 ToniThomason

Name: Toni Thomason

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic training: BS from Auburn University in Integrative Biology

Email: tt1822@jagmail.southalabama.edu  

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Allison Robertson (arobertson@disl.org)

 ClaytonBennett

NameClayton Bennett

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Ciguatoxin dynamics of a coral reef food web: A multi-pathway feeding study with Caridean shrimp (Palaemonidae) and damselfishes (Pomacentridae)

Academic training: B.S. in Marine Biology Troy University, July 2012

Email: cbennett@disl.org

 JessicaGwinn

Name: Jessica Gwinn

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Toxicokinetic Properties of Caribbean Ciguatoxins: Linking Organismal to Ecological Movement of Ciguatoxins

Academic training: BS in Bioenvironmental Sciences and BS in Wildlife & Fisheries Sciences, both from Texas A&M University, 2016 

Email: jgwinn@disl.org  

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Lee Smee (lsmee@disl.org)

 KellyCorreia

Name: Kelly Correia

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Science at Auburn University,

MS in Biology at Texas A&M University- Corpus Christi 

Email: kcorreia@disl.org

 MeredithDiskin

Name: Meredith Diskin

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Impacts of Black Mangrove Expansion in Salt Marshes on Sensory Ecology and Predator-Prey Interactions

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from the College of Charleston,

MS in Biology from Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Email: md1728@jagmail.southalabama.edu