Current Graduate Students

 Major Advisor - Dr. Ruth H. Carmichael (rcarmichael@disl.org)

Allen Aven

Name: Allen Aven

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Ecology and movements of the West Indian manatee (Trichechus manatus) in Alabama and the northern Gulf of Mexico 

Academic training: BS  Biology

Emailaaven@disl.org

 

 Elizabeth S. Darrow Condon

Name: Elizabeth S. Darrow Condon

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Evaluating historical and spatial anthropogenic impacts in a coastal estuary system using chemical and microbial indicators.    

Academic training:  BA in Biology, Environmental Sciences (double major) from University of Virginia,

MS in Marine Science from College of William and Mary

Emailecondon@disl.org

Kayla DaCosta

Name: Kayla DaCosta 

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Population connectivity and habitat utilization of the West Indian manatee in the northern Gulf of Mexico

 

Academic training: BS in Conservation Biology from Brigham Young University

Email: kdacosta@disl.org

 
Haley Nicholson

Name: Haley Nicholson

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title:  Larval oyster (Crassostrea virginica) settlement, distribution, and growth in a freshwater dominated and human influenced estuary

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from University of Miami  

Email: hnicholson@disl.org

 

 

Major Advisor - Dr. Just Cebrian (jcebrian@disl.org)

Aaron Macy

NameAaron Macy

Program of StudyPh.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Functional Shifts with Tropicalization in the Louisiana Marsh-Mangrove Ecotone

Academic training: BS in Oceanography from Florida Institute of Technology 

Emailamacy@disl.org

 Shailesh Sharma

NameShailesh Sharma

Program of StudyPh.D.

Thesis or Dissertation titleRestored Oyster Reefs: Potential Impacts on Water Quality, Submerged Aquatic Vegetation, Saltmarsh Flora and Associated Organisms 

Academic training: BS in Environmental Science from Tribhuvan University, Kathmandu,

MS in Environmental Science from Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur  

Emailssharma@disl.org 

 

Caitlin Wessel

NameCaitlin Wessel

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Marine Debris in the northern Gulf of Mexico

Academic training:  BS in Secondary Education from The University of Pittsburgh,

MS in Coastal, Marine and Wetland Studies from Coastal Carolina University      

Laura West

NameLaura West

Program of StudyPh.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title

Primary Productivity across a gradient of water quality in the northern Gulf of Mexico

Academic training: BS in Biology from Gordon State College 

Emaillwest@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor -  Dr. J. Marcus Drymon (mdrymon@southalabama.edu)

Emily Seubert

NameEmily Seubert

Program of StudyMS

Thesis or Dissertation titleTrophic Ecology of Apex Predators in the northern Gulf of Mexico

Academic trainingBS in Biological Sciences from the University of California, Davis

Emailemseubert@gmail.com

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Kenneth L. Heck, Jr.,  (kheck@disl.org)

Maddie Kennedy

NameMaddie Kennedy

Program of StudyMS

Thesis or Dissertation titleWhat are the impacts of wintering redhead ducks (aytha american) on shoalgrass (halodule wrightii) in the northern Gulf of Mexico?

Academic training: BA in Environmental Studies, Minor in Human Health from Ithaca College 

Emailmkennedy@disl.org

 

Whitney Scheffel

NameWhitney Scheffel

Program of StudyMS

Thesis or Dissertation titleImpacts of black mangrove (Avicennia germinans) range expansion on salt marsh faunal communities in the northern Gulf of Mexico

Academic training: BS in Biology from Coastal Carolina University

Emailwscheffel@disl.org

 

Anthony R. Marshak

Name: Anthony R. Marshak

Program of Study Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Ecological impacts of climate-related ichthyofaunal shifts and invasive lionfish upon the northern Gulf of Mexico reef fish community

Academic TrainingBS in Marine Biology from Texas A&M University

MS in Marine Sciences from the University of Puerto Rico

Email: amarshak@disl.org

Major Advisor - Dr. Ronald P. Kiene (rkiene@disl.org)

Molly Miller

NameMolly Miller

Program of study:  Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation titleAnthropogenic Nutrient Input and its Influence on Plant  Competitive Outcomes:  Implications for Habitat Degradation and Community Shifts

Academic training:  BS in Biology, University of South Alabama, 2006 

MS in Biology, University of South Alabama, 2010  

 

 Jessie Motard-Côté

NameJessie Motard-Côté 

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation titleSignificance of slowly-degrading dimethylsulfoniopropionate (DMSP) pools in the biogeochemical cycling of sulfur and carbon in marine waters. 

Academic trainingBS in Biology from Université Laval (Québec)

MS in Biology from Université Laval (Québec)

Email: jmotard-cote@disl.org

 

Alison N. Rellinger

NameAlison N. Rellinger 

Program of StudyPh.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation titleA Comparison of DMSP Cycling in Phaeocystis Spp. 

 

Academic training:  BA Biology, St. Mary's College of Maryland,

MS Marine Sciences, University of South Alabama

Emailarellinger@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor -  Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause (jkrause@disl.org)

Israel A. Marquez

Name: Israel A. Marquez

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation titleCopepod grazing selectivity of diatoms based on organic matter content and the degree of frustule silicification

M.S. thesis - The biogeochemical consequences of mesoscale eddies in the Sargasso Sea  

 

Academic trainingBS in Environmental Studies from UC Santa Barbara

MS in Marine Science from University of South Alabama

Emailimarquez@disl.org 

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Will Patterson (wpatterson@disl.org)

Justin Paul Lewis

Name: Justin Paul Lewis

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Use of vertebral chemistry to infer natal origin of the blacktip shark (Carcharhinus limbatus) in the northern Gulf of Mexico

Academic Training: BS in Marine and Aquatic Biology, Stetson University

Email: jlewis@disl.org 

 

Michael Norberg

NameMichael Norberg

Program of Study: MS 

Thesis or Dissertation titlePopulation Dynamics and Trophic Ecology of Tomtate, Haemulon aurolineatum, in the Northern Gulf of     Mexico

Academic trainingBS in Marine Biology at University of West Florida

Emailmnorberg@disl.org

 

 

Kristen Dahl

Name: Kristen Dahl 

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Ecology of Invasive Lionfish in the northern Gulf of Mexico and their Direct and Indirect Impacts on Native Reef Fish Communities 

Academic training: BS from University of West Florida

Emailkdahl@disl.org

Steve Garner

NameSteve Garner

Program of StudyPh.D.

Thesis or Dissertation titleHook performance and gear selectivity of reef fishes in the northern Gulf of Mexico

 

Academic trainingMS Oceanography and Coastal Science from Louisiana State University

Emailsgarner@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Sean P. Powers (spowers@disl.org)

Trey

Name: Trey Spearman 

Program of Study: MS 

Thesis or Dissertation titleEffects of large-scale habitat modification on fish and invertebrate communities within Alabama's Reef Permitting Zone

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Auburn University (2010)

Email: tspearman@disl.org

 

Laura Claiborne Stone

Name: Laura Claiborne Stone                

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Estimating post-release mortality of Greater Amberjack (Seriola dumerili) in the nGOM using acoustic telemetry

Academic training:  BA in Environmental Studies from Dickinson College

Emaillstone@disl.org

 

Pearce Cooper

Name: Pearce Cooper

Program of StudyPh.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Population connectivity of Sargassum associates, with focus on the recreationally important associate, Lobotes surinamensis

Academic trainingBS Fisheries Sciences, Virginia Tech 

Emailpcooper@disl.org

Andrea Kroetz

Name: Andrea Kroetz

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Movement and trophic dynamics of   highly mobile estuarine-dependent fishes

Academic training:  BS in Integrative Biology from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Emailakroetz@disl.org

T. Reid Nelson

Name: T. Reid Nelson

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Elucidating habitat use, movements, and growth of euryhaline species

Academic training:  Marine Biology BS University of North Carolina at Wilmington,

Fisheries MS Auburn

Emailtnelson@disl.org

Meagan Schrandt

Name: Meagan Schrandt

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Distribution, habitat use and movement patterns of two coastal pelagic fish, Spanish Mackerel Scomberomorus maculatus and Florida Pompano Trachinotus carolinus

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Florida Institute of Technology

MS in Marine Biology from University of North Carolina Wilmington.

 Emailmschrandt@disl.org