Marine Sciences Programs Faculty Research news and Events Contact Us Links Home USA Home

 

 

Primary Faculty

Dr. Ruth Carmichael
Ph.D. 2004, Boston University 
Assistant Professor
Emphasis: Marine Ecosystem Response
Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext 7555
Email: rcarmichael@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd.
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. Just Cebrian
Ph.D. 1996, Polytechnic University of Catalonia (Barcelona, Spain) 
Professor
Emphasis: Coastal ecosystem ecology; trophic interactions; eutrophication; Aquatic-Terrestrial comparative ecology 
Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext 7568
Email: jcebrian@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd.
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. Kelly Dorgan
Ph.D. 2007, University of Maine
Assistant Professor
Emphasis
: Benthic ecology; biomechanics of burrowing; biological-physical interactions; functional morphology and physiology of invertebrates...
Phone:
 (251) 861-2141
Email: kdorgan@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528
Dr. Marcus Drymon
Ph.D. 2010, University of South Alabama
Research Assistant Professor
Emphasis
: Marine Fisheries Ecology
Phone:
 (251) 861-2141 ext. 2133
Email: mdrymon@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. Ken Heck
Ph.D., 1976, Florida State University 
Professor
Emphasis: Ecology of plant-animal interactions in seagrass meadows, and restoration of oyster reefs and wetlands 
Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext 2284
Email: kheck@disl.org 
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. Ron Kiene
Ph.D. 1986, SUNY Stony Brook
Professor
Emphasis
: Biogeochemistry and microbial ecology; organic sulfur cycling. 
Phone:
 (251) 861-2141 ext 2269
Email: rkiene@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. Jeffrey Krause
Ph.D. 2008, Oregon State University 
Assistant Professor
Emphasis
: Phytoplankton ecology, physiology and marine biogeochemistry
Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext 7577
Email: jkrause@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. Alice Ortmann
Ph.D. 2005, University of British Columbia
Assistant Professor
Emphasis
: Diversity and ecological roles of marine microbes including Bacteria, Archaea and their viruses using both culture-based and molecular biology techniques.
Phone:
 (251) 861-2141 ext 7526
Fax: (251) 861-7540 
Email: aortmann@disl.org 
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528
http://marinemicrobialecologylab.disl.org/index.html

Dr. Kyeong Park
Ph.D. 1993, College of William and Mary 
Professor
Emphasis
: Numerical modeling of physical transport processes and water quality conditions in estuarine and coastal systems 
Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext 7563
Email: kpark@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. William Patterson, III
Ph.D.  1999, University of South Alabama
Associate Professor
Emphasis
: Research areas include population dynamics, trophic dynamics, and population structure of marine fishes.
Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext.2428
Email: wpatterson@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. Sean Powers
Ph.D. 1997, Texas A&M University 
Professor and Chair
Emphasis
: Fisheries ecology; conservation and restoration of coastal shellfish and finfish 
Phone:
 (251) 460-7136
Email: spowers@disl.org 
Department of Marine Sciences
LSCB 25
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. Alison Robertson
Ph.D. 2005, James Cook University (Australia) 
Research Assistant Professor
Emphasis
: Marine ecotoxicology and chemistry, ecosystem, wildlife, and human health impacts, mechanisms of toxicity, food web transfer, bioaccumulation, and resistance in marine organisms 
Phone:
 (251) 861-2141
Email: arobertson@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Dr. Robert Shipp
Ph.D. 1970, Florida State University 
Professor 
Emphasis
: Phylogeny of fishes; impact of artificial structures on fish population dynamics
Phone:
 (251) 460-7136
Email: rshipp@southalabama.edu 
Department of Marine Sciences
LSCB Room 25
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. John Valentine
Ph.D. 1989, University of Alabama 
Professor 
Emphasis
: Biotic processes controlling the flow of energy among trophic levels in marine habitats, and seagrass food web structure 
Phone:
 (251) 861-2141 ext 2261
Email: jvalentine@disl.org
Dauphin Island Sea Lab
101 Bienville Blvd. 
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Anne Boettcher
Ph.D. 1996, University of Delaware 
Associate Professor
Emphasis:
 Ecological physiology chemical ecology, and larval ecology 
Phone: (251) 460-7527
Email: aboettch@jaguar1.usouthal.edu 
Biological Sciences Dept.
LSCB Room 27
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. Scott Douglass
Ph.D. 1989 Drexel University 
Associate Professor
Emphasis:
 Coastal engineering and science applications; design of erosion solutions that emulate natural systems.
Phone: (251) 460-6174
Email: sdouglas@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Civil Engineering
EGCB 290
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. Mimi Fearn
Ph.D. 1996, Louisiana State University 
Chair, Earth Sciences
Emphasis
: Sedimentology and diatom phylogeny 
Phone:
 (251) 460-7573
Email: mfearn@usouthal.edu
Earth Sciences Department 
LSCB 136
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. John Freeman
Ph.D. 1980, Duke University 
Chair, Biology
Emphasis
: Embryology and decapod crustaceans 
Phone:
 (251) 460-7521
Email: jafreema@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Biological Sciences Dept.
LSCB Room 124
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. Doug Haywick
Ph.D. 1991, James Cook University - Australia
Associate Professor
Emphasis
: Sedimentology and geological eceanography 
Phone:
 (251) 460-7569
Email: dhaywick@jaguar1.usouthal.edu 
Earth Sciences Department
LSCB Room 145
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. Joanne Lyczkowski-Shultz
Ph.D., University of Maine, Orono
National Marine Fisheries Service
Emphasis
: Larval fish distribution
Email: Joanne.Lyczkowsky-Shultz@noaa.gov
Southeast Fisheries Science center
Mississippi Lab Pascagoula Facility
P.O.Drawer 1207
Pascagoula, MS 39568-1207
Phone:(228) 762-4591
Fax: (228) 769-9200

Dr. Kelly Major Ph.D.

1995, Biological Sciences, University of Maine, Orono 
Associate Professor
Emphasis
: Algal and plant physiological ecology 
Phone:
(251) 460-7523
Email: kmajor@usouthal.edu
Biological Sciences Dept.
LSCB 51
Mobile, AL 36688 

Dr. John McCreadie
Ph.D. 1999, Memorial University of Newfoundland 
Associate Professor 
Emphasis
: Ecology of aquatic insects
Phone:
 (251) 460-6332
Email: jmccread@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Biological Sciences Dept.
LSCB Room 124
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. Jack O'Brien
Ph.D. 1993, University of California-Santa Barbara 
Associate Professor 
Emphasis
: Ecological parasitology, especially crustacean parasitic castrators such as rhizocephalan barnacles
Phone:
 (251) 460-6332
Email: jobrien@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Biological Sciences Dept.
LSCB Room 124
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. Alvin Rainosek
Ph.D. 1970, Texas A&M University 
Associate Professor 
Emphasis
: Statistical applications to fisheries 
Phone:
 (251) 460-6264
Email: rainosek@mathstat.usouthal.edu
Mathematics and Statistics Dept.
ILB 325
Mobile, AL 36688

Dr. Tim Sherman
Ph.D. 1993, Texas A&M University 
Associate Professor 
Emphasis
: Plant and algal cell biology and physiology
Phone:
 (251) 460-7529
Email: tsherman@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Biological Sciences Dept.
LSCB Room 124
Mobile, AL 36688

 

 

 

 

 

 

University of South Alabama - Mobile Alabama 36688-0002 / 1 (251) 460-6101
For questions or comments Contact Us
Last date changed: April 9, 2014 10:19 AM
http://www.southalabama.edu