International Studies Faculty

The International Studies Program has faculty affiliates from twelve departments across three colleges.      

 

Contact Us

Christine Rinne, PhD
Associate Professor of German
Director of International Studies

(251) 460-6746
crinne@southalabama.edu

Kristy Britt, MA
Senior Instructor of Spanish
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies

(251) 460-6291
kbritt@southalabama.edu

Claire Cage, PhD
Assistant Professor of History
Area of Expertise: European Studies

(251) 460-7373
ccage@southalabama.edu
S. Raj Chaudhury, PhD
Executive Director, Innovation in Learning Center; Associate Professor of Physics
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies

(251) 461-1888

schaudhury@southalabama.edu

Laureen Fregeau, PhD
Associate Professor of Foundations of Education
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies

(251) 380-2619
lfregeau@southalabama.edu

Nicholas Gossett, PhD
Assistant Professor of Russian
Area of Expertise: European Studies

(251) 460-6291
ngossett@southalabama.edu

Delwar Hossain, PhD
Assistant Professor of Communication
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies
(251) 380-2800
dhossain@southalabama.edu
Zohair Husain, PhD
Associate Professor of Political Science
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies, International Relations, and Middle East Studies
(251) 460-7203
zhusain@southalabama.edu
Zoya Khan, PhD
Associate Professor of Spanish
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies
(251) 460-6291 
zkhan@southalabama.edu
Mara Kozelsky, PhD
Professor of History
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies and European Studies
(251) 460-7377
mkozelsky@southalabama.edu

Scott Liebertz, PhD
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies

(251) 460-7216

sliebertz@southalabama.edu

Christina Lindeman, PhD
Assistant Professor of Visual Arts
Area of Expertise: European Studies
(251) 460-6424
clindeman@southalabama.edu

Eric Loomis, PhD
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies

(251) 460-6248
ejloomis@southalabama.edu

Mihaela Marin, PhD
Associate Professor of French
Area of Expertise: European Studies

(251) 460-6291
mmarin@southalabama.edu
Susan McCready, PhD
Professor of French
Area of Expertise: European Studies
(251) 460-6291
smccread@southalabama.edu

David Meola, PhD
Assistant Professor of 
History
Area of Expertise: European Studies

(251) 460-6867

dameola@southalabama.edu

David Messenger, PhD
Professor and Chair of History
Area of Expertise: European Studies

(251) 460-6210

davidamessenger@southalabama.edu

Harry Miller, PhD
Associate Professor of History
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies
(251) 460-7547
hsmiller@southalabama.edu
Hosik Min, PhD
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies

(251) 460-7677
hmin@southalabama.edu

Mark Moberg, PhD
Professor of Anthropology
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies
(251) 460-6912
mmoberg@southalabama.edu
Frances Mujica, PhD
Assistant Professor of Geography
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies
(251) 460-1735
fcmujica@southalabama.edu
Terri Rice, MA
Senior Instructor of Spanish
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies
(251) 460-6291
twrice@southalabama.edu
Roberto Robles-Valencia, PhD
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Area of Expertise: European Studies
(251) 460-6291
robles@southalabama.edu
Harry Roddy, PhD
Associate Professor of German
Area of Expertise: European Studies
(251) 461-1462
hroddy@southalabama.edu
Roy Ryder, PhD 
Professor of Earth Sciences
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies
(251) 460-6381
rryder@southalabama.edu
Alex Sharland, PhD
Associate Professor of Marketing and E-Commerce
Area of Expertise: International Business
(251) 460-6412
asharland@southalabama.edu
Michele Strong, PhD
Associate Professor of History
Area of Expertise: European Studies
(251) 460-6210
mstrong@southalabama.edu
James Swofford, PhD
Professor of Economics and Finance
Area of Expertise: International Business
(251) 460-6705
jswoffor@southalabama.edu

Eleanor ter Horst, PhD
Associate Professor and Chair of Modern and Classical Languages and Literature
Area of Expertise: European Studies

(251) 460-6291
eterhorst@southalabama.edu

Kevin Tsai, PhD
Assistant Professor of Chinese
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies

(251) 460-6485   

tsai@southalabama.edu                           

Brian Whitener, PhD
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Area of Expertise: Latin American Studies

(251) 461-1458

bwhitener@southalabama.edu

Rebecca Williams, PhD
Associate Professor of History
Area of Expertise: Asian Studies
(251) 460-6210
rwilliams@southalabama.edu